Information Technology: BTEC

At Key Stage 5 we offer the BTEC National Level 3 Extended Certificate in Information Technology

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is intended as an applied general qualification covering 360 GLH (Guided Learning Hours) and equivalent in size to one A Level.  It is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.

Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.

This BTEC qualification is a 2 Year course and students apply learning through a range of practical assessments. The combination of practical and written assessment styles gives students the confidence that they can apply their knowledge to succeed in the workplace – and have the study skills to continue learning on higher education courses (if they choose to), and throughout their career.

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is made up of units. The units studied are as follows:

  • Unit 1: Information Technology Systems
  • Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
  • Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business
  • Unit 5: Data Modelling

All BTEC Nationals provide transferable knowledge and skills that prepare learners for progression to university. The transferable skills that universities value include:

  • The ability to learn independently
  • The ability to research actively and methodically
  • Being able to give presentations and being active group members.